Maker Bee


Dear Jane Update…. Finally!
April 12, 2008, 8:12 pm
Filed under: needle & thread | Tags: , ,

Now that I’m all caught up with the Dear Baby Jane Quilt-along I can blog about my blocks. In the book Brenda urges people to keep a journal chronicling their Dear Jane journey. This is what finally spurred me on to start this blog I’ve been meaning to start for oh 2 years now. heh.

So my third completed block was Jane’s Tears. This was my first time for doing applique. Anina suggested using a reverse applique method for this block so the tears could be precisely located on the block. I realized this wasn’t the best idea for me since my tear fabric was so dark but I figured I had better go with the reverse method or my block would probably end up looking really wonky. The white flowered fabric is pretty thick so I don’t think the turned under edges show up too bad in real life.

Next was Field of Dreams. This was a simple machine pieced block. I had some fun with this Amy Butler fabric and fussy cut just the edges of the flowers out. I really had no idea how this one was going to work out. I think it looks pretty cool.

The next was Bacherlor Buttons which was reverse applique much like Janes Tears. My applique is still a little wombly but I thought the circles on the circles would be cute.

Next was Chris’s Soccer Field. This one was created using paper piecing. I had done some paper piecing before so this one was a breeze. I love how crisp everything can look with that method. I hope we do another paper pieced block soon.

Then came Mirror Image. This was my first time piecing a curve. I followed Anina’s tutorial and it worked perfectly the first time. I think I got pretty lucky :) I love this orange fabric it’s so cute.

The next block is Simple Simon. It’s a pretty straight forward block but I used this cool Denyse Schmidt fabric to spice it up a little. I wish the diagonal x running through the center of the block had come out a little bit straighter but I’m happy with it non the less.

Dad’s Plaids is reverse applique and regular applique. I was dreading this block for some reason. I put it off until the last possible moment. I used this fabric because it has those little shapes in it like the appliqued shapes.

Jason’s Jacks. I put this one off too. I was worried about all that applique. So I decided to pick a fabric with a busy print to hid any wobbly areas. I think that after finishing this one I finally felt comfortable with my applique skills.

Our next block was Rose of Sharing. I had a lot of fun fussy cutting this fabric. This block was hand appliqued and then machine pieced. I wish the center seam had lined up better but I was afraid of messing up the outer seams line up to rip it. I think this one is pretty cool.

Finally we have Rayelle’s Fence. Rayelle sounds like the name of someone from West Virginia so I like that. I used a paper piecing method to sew together the strips on this one and then I machine basted each intersecting seam before stitching all the rows together. I didn’t do any fussy cuts on this one and I kind of like the haphazardness of it.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Your blocks look great! Even the places you were worried don’t line up really add to its character. The colors look great together, the quilt is going to be beautiful.

Comment by Stacy A

your blocks are amazing. really. i’ve never had a desire to give this a try until seeing these. as a little girl i had a quilt made of blocks like these, at my grandmother’s house, and i remember staring at it for hours. i love how pieces of fabric can be so integrated into our childhood memories. so, i think i’ll give it a try. any other books that you would recommend for someone new at piecing, and not that great at applique? :)

Comment by Varenia

Great blocks! I really like those 30’s fabrics.

Comment by Rhonda/Doxies on My Quilt




Leave a Reply

